Follow

People keep signing up under my email address, not their own. What is happening?

SignUp invitation links can either be personal links, coded to your unique email address, or Shareable invitation links that anyone can use. If people are accidentally signing up under your email address, it's very likely that your Personal SignUp Invitation was accidentally forwarded or shared in a group posting or message, instead of a Shareable invitation link.

If you're a Participant (parent, volunteer, student), please forward this help article to the SignUp Organizer right away.

If you're the SignUp  Organizer, please read on:

The SignUp link in each SignUp.com-generated invitation is uniquely-coded to the recipient's email address. This link allows participants to sign up for your activities without having to register for their own SignUp.com account with a password (a feature they love).

To prevent people from sharing personal invitations, we have both a text warning in each email invitation and an additional pop-up email confirmation screen when participants enter the SignUp that looks similar to this one below. 

4-13-2020_8-22-23_AM.jpg


If participants are moving quickly and click Yes before reading, they will be signed up for new assignments under the wrong email account.

To correct this situation and get a Shareable invitation link instead, please follow these easy steps:

    1. Navigate to your SignUp's Organizer view by logging in at SignUp.com and from your Dashboard or the Organize Tab/ My SignUps view, click the SignUp title to access the Organizer view shown below.
    2. Send a message to all of your Participants and tell them to please ignore the previous link. You can do this in the Messages tab of the SignUp's Organizer view. 
    3. Clear all spots assigned to the wrong email address. The quickest way is to do this is in the Participant tab of your SignUp's Organizer view. Click on the email address that was shared (yours?) and Delete all the assignments by clicking the red X to the right of each assignment.
    4. Get the correct Shareable URL link. The Shareable link can be sent to everyone using YOUR email account, or posted in a group message, newsletter, social media, etc. Get your shareable link by clicking Invite tab in your SignUp's Organizer view. 
    1. 4-13-2020_8-27-24_AM.jpg

Find out more about how to use the Invite by Shareable Invitation link option in this help article: How do I invite potential Participants? 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk